New Accomplishment: Sub-10 Min Mile

Just had to share today’s accomplishment…

This afternoon, before I left for work, my friend (coach?) Leah was talking me up for my “easy” final 4-miler I was going to do when I got home.  “Shoot for 10,” she said, meaning, take my usual 11-something-minute mile pace and see if I could do a 10-minute mile.  Yeah, right, I thought.  When I got home, she shot me a text, just to drive the message home.  “Push yourself!”

Those statements resonated in my head all through my run…I tried to speed up on all the flats and the downhills, and pushed myself to keep a decent pace on my steepest uphills.  Even though I felt like I was breathing too hard too early, I made myself keep going.  On the long shallow uphills, I kept my eyes a few feet in front of my steps, refusing to acknowledge the rise in the pavement.  Anytime I felt I had some strength in reserve, I tried to pick up my pace just a bit faster than was “comfortable.”  I thought I’d never have enough energy for my final hill at mile 3.5, but I was amazed at how strong I felt as I tackled it…and on the final downhill stretch, I gave it my all…even sprinting across the neighborhood main road to beat oncoming traffic (which was plenty far away, mind you; just seeing them in the distance gave me an excuse to tell my legs to fire the afterburners).

When I stopped the watch on the far side of Waterway at the Mile 4 spot, I couldn’t believe it.  40:33.  Average pace: 10:06 min/mile.

And the time at the 2-mile mark had been 19:48.  Which means my first two miles averaged 9:27 min/mile.

I know that’s not much to write home about for most people…but up till now, my fastest EVER 4-miler was 43:56.  And my best pace prior to today was a 10:13 min/mile average on a 3-miler.  In fact, all my sub-11 min/mile averages have come on 3-milers, except for last Tuesday’s awesome 7-miler, in which I averaged a 10:50 min/mile.

So basically, I knocked over three minutes off a 4-mile route.

I feel like Superman. =)

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Accomplishment: Sub-10 Min Mile

  1. Patty Engelen says:

    You ARE Superman!!! Great job today!!

Leave a Reply

