Will You Help Me Be a Hero?

It’s time to declare the fundraising phase of my marathon efforts NOW OPEN. =)

If you read this blog, you know that I have spent the past 8 weeks training for a marathon.  As of this Saturday, I’ll be halfway through my training program and will be running nearly 30 miles per week.  In another month, I will be running nearly 40 miles per week, with an ultimate long run distance of 18 miles.  The St. Jude Marathon in Memphis, TN will take place on Sunday, December 4, just a few days before I turn 33 years old.  Though I have only a nebulous time goal (and it will NOT be anything to write home about, I assure you!), my main goal is to finish the entire 26.2 miles…hopefully, before they take down the course 6 hours after the start time. =)

Training has been quite an experience.  At the beginning of June, I was working my way through the Couch to 5K program and could not yet run a full mile without walking.  By the time I ran the Freedom 5K (my third such race EVER) in Culpeper on the 4th of July, I had managed to get to the two-mile mark before I walked…and that was the day I went to visit my friends George and Abbey, and somehow got it into my head that I could conceivably train for and complete a full marathon.  And a few days ago, I ran my farthest continuous distance yet – the first (almost) 8 miles of a 12-mile long run.  In seven and a half weeks, I’ve run over 140 miles…and, not counting the marathon, I have 237 miles to go.  My progress has truly been gratifying…sometimes I can hardly believe how far I’ve come.

But I have a long way to go.  And not just with the running.  This is where you come in.

In addition to registering for the race, I chose to register to be a St. Jude Hero.  This means I’ve committed to a fundraising goal of $500 (actually, I decided I had WAY too awesome a friend base for $500 and therefore doubled it…my goal is **NEWS FLASH!!  UPDATE!!  IT’S NOW $2,500!!!) that will go to benefit the children treated at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee.  Named for the Patron Saint of Lost Causes, St. Jude’s treats children who have cancer and other terminal and incurable diseases.  And they don’t charge their patients’ families for treatment that insurance doesn’t cover…every child is welcomed and every child is treated.  And in the background, their scientists are hard at work, researching cures for these terrible illnesses.

How do they do it, you ask?  Through charitable contributions from people like you.

So I’d like to ask you to consider donating to St. Jude and helping me be a Hero to these kids.  I’ll run the miles…you fund the treatment, support the research, offer the hope…just by donating a few bucks.  Whatever you have to spare would be wonderful.  No amount is too small…really.  I would so dearly love to reach this goal, and I can’t do it without you.

If you’d like to donate, please visit my St. Jude Hero’s page.  It’s quick and easy, and it’ll even display your name in my total, so everyone will know that you’re a Hero, too (and if you don’t want it to, you may also donate anonymously).

Thank you in advance for your consideration and your generosity.  Please…join me in being a child’s Hero.

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

