WEEK 7 is ON!!!

OKAY PEOPLE!!  I declare it’s time for a RE-ENERGIZING!!!  THIS is my new state of mind!!  Take 49 seconds out of your day and meet my girl Jessica!! She is my new inner child, my spirit guide, my COACH, and my MENTOR!!!  YEAH!!!

(i got told today that my blog was depressing.  yeah.  can’t have that.)

So, I realized today that it’s been weeks since I picked up the Non-Runner’s Marathon Trainer.  And as I re-read the chapter for Week 6, which is entirely about positive self-talk (how ironic is that???  I was totally negative for ALL of Week 6!!), I realized that I needed to read that training book consistently in order to stay pumped about my goal!  I’d forgotten all kinds of things the book advised us to do at this point in our training, particularly to write a mantra paragraph and make copies of it to post by my bed and carry around with me.  I’m supposed to read it every morning as soon as I wake up, every night before I go to bed, and several times throughout the day in order to re-program myself to succeed in my training.

Lately I have been WAY too bogged down in negative thoughts…all about how my muscles ache, or I don’t have energy to make it through a run without walking, or I’m overwhelmed by the training schedule, or it’s hard to juggle running and working…well, NO MORE!

Warning: Major Cheesey Corniness Ahead!  (yes, bad enough to necessitate declarations of both cheesiness AND corniness)

I WANT this marathon. I cannot wait to feel the rush I’ll get when I cross the finish line; I don’t care if I’m comatose two seconds later.  I WANT that 26.2 sticker. Hell, I want twenty of ’em.  I want to plaster my car and my fridge and my whiteboards in my classroom with them.  I want t-shirts that tell the world I’m a marathoner. I want that medal framed on my wall (at Belle Framing).  I want to know that I took on something HUGE and saw it through to the end, because the thought of quitting was unacceptable.  I want those athletic chicks I pass on the sidewalk to give me looks that acknowledge me as one of them, not looks that show they’re wondering what I’m doing out there.  I want to amaze myself with what I’m capable of when I decide that I’m worth the effort it takes to get there.  I want to overhear people I know telling other people that I’m a runner…even if they’re also telling people I’m crazy. I want to feel the contours of my body changing underneath my very hands, and realize the wonder and the slow spreading grin I can’t stop from wearing as I think, “Who’s this girl with this runner’s body??”

(okay, so maybe that’s not the FINAL draft of my marathon paragraph…but it’s a start.  what should i definitely keep??) =)

So, from now on, it’s going to be FUN.  Even when I want to say it SUCKS.  I’m going to exhilarate in the strength in my thighs, just the way Christa and I did that day on the Camino, the day we plowed the trail to Portomarin, devouring the soft, flabby newbies clogging the road, cutting through them sleek and powerful…THAT will be my new image on days when I need an extra burst of strength and stamina.  I’m going to remember how we whooped and hollered as we took the downhills at a gallop, packs pulled tight against us, and how unstoppable we felt.  THIS is my new image of what I’m capable of.  No more exhausted trudging through the mileage…I’m going to take that exhaustion and run with it.  Make it try to keep up with me.

Today’s 4 was a track run with Leah.  Our plans to run Burke Lake were spoiled by rain…I still hope to get a chance to do that sometime soon.  I very much want to try a trail run.  Today I learned that running a track at a constant pace, relying on Leah’s GPS watch to tell us when to stop, makes me SLOW.  So we decided we’ll try to do track intervals every Monday possible.  She says that’ll make me faster, and maybe help strengthen my knee, too.  And it prevents the monotony of the track, too.  I didn’t count laps today, so I didn’t know when we were in the homestretch, and didn’t shift into my usual finishing pick-up speed…I think shifting pace throughout will help keep me focused and working hard.

So if I’m slowest on a track…and way better on side streets…maybe I’d be REALLY fast on a trail!!  Maybe??

If you skipped Jessica in the first paragraph, GO BACK AND WATCH HER. NOW.  =)  (JC – she reminds me of GC!!)

And if you’re like me and have beaten yourself up over a “bad run,” read this article.  From this, I’ll be adopting yet another mantra: “There’s no such thing as a bad run.”

BRING ON WEEK 7!!!!!!

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WEEK 7 is ON!!!

  1. Patty Engelen says:

    OOOO-Rah!!! You go, girl!! YOU CAN DO THIS AND YOU WILL BE GREAT!!!!

  2. Jenn P says:

    DO IT!!! Keep going. :)

  3. Jeff says:

    “We are different, in essence, from other people. If you want to win something, run 100 meters. I you want to expereince something, run a marathon.” Emil Zatopek

    You will never regret the experience! Run Girl Run!

  4. Lynn says:

    I LOVE Jessica! If you can capture her spirit, you’ve got it made!!! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

