Week 6 Complete

My apologies for how ho-hum my blog has gotten lately.  When I started this thing, I thought I’d have a lot to say about my training, and would be posting a couple times a week…but this is my first one in a week now.  Maybe the problem is that I feel pretty negative about my efforts lately, and I don’t want to give that any more weight by putting it in writing.  (And no one likes to read negativity, either!)  So I’ll try to do better with that this week.

Anyway.  Week 6 is done…well, as done as it’s going to be.  It was NOT a good week for training.  For some reason I just couldn’t get it together this week.  Granted, I had a lot of complications…plans nearly every single evening that made it difficult to schedule my runs…and when I did get out there, my energy level just wasn’t anywhere near where it was last week.  Also, this week’s mileage was three miles longer than last week’s…maybe that’s another reason why I’m struggling so much.

Monday’s 4 wasn’t anything to write home about.  My breathing was off and I ended up with a couple mini-walks at a distance I’m not supposed to be walking at all.  I did go earlier than I normally do, so I could make it to dinner with a friend later that evening, so it was a bit hotter than it is at dusk when I usually do my runs.  So I shrugged it off and hoped Tuesday would go better.

It didn’t.  Tuesday’s run scheduling was even more complicated, as I had Back to School Night to contend with.  So I signed out early and went home so I could hit the road at about 3pm, do about an hour’s run, shower, polish up again, and be back at the school by 6.  But 5 miles at 3pm felt like about 9.  It was about 80 out, I took on the Waterway hill and made it up, but walked after…then passed Henderson Elementary RIGHT at dismissal.  So suddenly I’m dodging and leaping over dogs, strollers, and first-graders, dancing like one of those cartoon characters getting bullets shot at his feet.  Probably walked over half of the third mile, and still contending with strange numbness taking over my left leg around that point.  I’m sure it’s connected to the disc bulge they found in the MRI in February…the question is, what do I do about it?

Wednesday was an off day…but Thursday, I dropped in on Joe’s family, which to my surprise included a dinner out!  And therefore meant I missed Thursday’s 4-miler.  Given how this week had gone, I was almost okay with that, though I did feel pretty guilty.  Finally decided I’d get up extra-early on Friday morning and run 3 before school.  I should have done the full 4, but I was worried I would be late to school, and while hitting the pavement at 5am is doable, any earlier is just NOT.  The 3 went really well, though…FINALLY…and I didn’t even crash later in the day.  Too bad my short runs are all 4s now, and 5s in another couple weeks…what I wouldn’t give to have a morning planning period again…sigh.

So there’s the missing mile.

And then came yesterday.  ELEVEN.  I don’t have the elation over this week’s long run that I had last week…mainly because it went pretty much the way Monday and Tuesday did.  I finished 11 miles in 2:11:19…which is still an under-12:00/mile pace, but included about 15 total minutes’ walking instead of the under-10 I’d hoped for.  That’s way worse than any of my previous LRs…last week was only 8 minutes’ walking in 1:55:00.  I wonder if the 3-miler 24 hours before had an effect on me…ordinarily, I’d’ve had about 36 hours’ rest time before a LR.  I just couldn’t get myself into that competitive mindset I usually have on a LR day…the one that keeps me churning away when I really want to walk.  Was it the 3?  Was it the linear route, not a loop, one that took me so far from home?

The route yesterday took me from my street all the way to the Occoquan Craft Fair…a route that has some serious uphills in the first half, but is almost entirely flat and downhill for the second half.  I stretched okay at the end, but was on my feet most of the rest of the day…and either that or the downhilling has my outer thigh muscles SCREAMING at me today.  I hope that resolves itself enough for me to knock out a 4 tomorrow afternoon.  The problems with my right knee are ongoing, too…nothing crippling yet, but lurking in the background.

So, all in all, not too positive in my reflections of this week.  However, I’m told that bad days (weeks?) happen.  I’ve also read a few articles lately that talk about how a great deal of fatigue is in your head, not in your muscles…a theory that the NRMT backs up…so I need to spend some time in some positive visualization this week.  Brainwashing.  This week has gotta be better.

I should also try to apply my No Run But Today’s philosophy backwards as well as forwards.  If I refuse to worry about any run but today’s, then not only should I be refusing to stress about upcoming runs…I should also be able to let past runs go.  On December 4, it won’t matter how many of my training runs were less than ideal…it’ll just matter that I show up and go for 26.2.

Week 7…Monday is 4.  Tuesday goes up to 6 now.  4 more on Thursday…and a 12 on Saturday.  26 total.  (Ha ha…maybe I should tack on a 0.2 somewhere just to say I finally did a marathon – in a WEEK.)

PS – My totals on Runkeeper are blowing my mind.  I swear just a week and a half ago I hit 100 miles on Runkeeper…now I’m at 141.  SCORE.

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 6 Complete

  1. Fran Phoenix says:

    Don’t me too analytical! You are getting the job done!

  2. Trinity says:

    I am STILL thinking you are incredible for sticking with this. The sheer self-discipline floors me.

Leave a Reply

