Week 3 Begins

Just a quick one tonight…

I did a 3-miler tonight up 234 and back…trying to get to the point where I can a) run 3 miles easily, without feeling like it’s a struggle, and b) do it in 30 minutes or less.  Tonight’s time was 32:15, which puts me at a 10:42/mile pace…which means I’m now pretty much consistently breaking my 11:30ish mile I did consistently throughout my pre-training stages.  I’m pretty excited about that.

I waited till dusk to run…even scouted 234 on the way home to make sure that it was mostly shaded with the dropping sun, haha…and ended up finishing when it was nearly dark because I didn’t hurry to get out there.  I was trying to let the temperature drop, too, but it was still 80 when I finished, and I was COVERED in sweat.

The middle of the run tonight was awesome…I really felt as if I was faster than usual, really pushing myself, and at the same time, I felt very, very strong.  Even my breathing was much slower and more even than I thought it would be, given my perceived effort.  By the end, though…about the last three minutes…it felt like every organ in my body was in full-on protest!  I didn’t let the cramps stop me this time…trying to learn to breathe through them.  My training book says cramps happen because the organs are literally not used to being jostled so much…which tells me that they will become less frequent as my weekly mileage increases.  It took FOREVER for the last quarter-mile, but I didn’t stop.

These 3s are going to have to stop being a big deal, haha…they’re the least I’ll ever do from now on, and come October, they’ll be gone entirely!  Hopefully, future posts will reflect that 3 miles is just a blink of an eye!

To the Running Gods: Should I start making my two “short” runs each week into pace runs?  Basically, should I start worrying about pace now, or just keep trying to do every distance consistently without walking, even if I slow down?

PS – I have GOT to start mapping routes that end in DOWNHILLS!!

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

