Week 2 Complete

Week 2 of my marathon training is over!

I did the 6-miler today.  WOW.  It was TOUGH.  Run #2 in the new Brooks shoes was a bit better than Thursday…only a little bit of numbness…but I don’t really like them any better.  The cushioning under the ball of my foot doesn’t feel right, almost like there’s a ridge there that runs diagonally from my instep up to my pinkie toe.  Sigh.  Might give ’em one or two more chances…my next three runs are 3, 4, and 3…but I keep thinking of the Sauconys I passed up and wishing I’d gone to a place where I knew there would be no beef about returning them.  Maybe PRR will still accept an exchange, but I might be stuck with ’em.

Anyway…the run.  I find I live in a bowl.  Both ends of the main road of my neighborhood go UP.  Like, the kind of up you don’t really notice much in a car, but KICK YOUR BUTT when you’re running.  I’m hoping that within a couple weeks, they’ll seem like nothing to me, because I’m sure they are, but for right now…they’re HARD!  I walked from my house a few blocks to one end of my neighborhood, and then ran all the way to the other end, starting at one stoplight post and not stopping till I slapped the stoplight post 3.5 miles away.  At that point, I must admit I walked two minutes (damn near crawled, to tell you the truth), but started up again and made it back to the stop sign at the 5-mile point, walked another two minutes, and finished it out all the way to the end.

Total time: 1:07:02.  Pace was 11:08…still almost half a minute per mile faster than my usual pace.

So…all told, I feel like I did pretty well.  I certainly was exhausted at the end, which told me I’d pushed hard…and while the two little walks kept this from being a “perfect” run, I’m very proud of my effort.  I have three “short” runs this week, and I hope to use them to overcome a few trouble spots on my route that seem to psych me out every time (all uphills late in the route)…and by the time I do a 7 next Saturday, I just might have a shot at going the whole distance.

Er, I mean, I WILL go the whole distance!! =)

Soooo…that’s the report.  I’m looking forward to this week because it’ll be the first week that I don’t foresee ANY trouble making all four runs (even though I go back to work on Monday)…so I’m interested to see how I’ll feel running 4 times a week for the first time, instead of 2 or 3.

This week’s mileage: 13.  (supposed to be 16)

Next week’s mileage: 17.

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 2 Complete

  1. Jeff says:

    If only …

    You are doing great! Don’t bump the milage too fast – slow and steady wins the race.

  2. Jenn P says:

    AWESOME JOB!!!!!
    Alas, I think you need to take those shoes back. :(

Leave a Reply

