New Accomplishment: 1 Hour

I JUST RAN A FULL HOUR!!!  I can’t tell you how psyched I am about that.  I think my previous longest run was 38 minutes or something.  And this was an HOUR.  (And twenty seconds.)  AN HOUR!!!

Everything they say about running is true.  About how you can get into a zone.  About how you can feel like you’re floating.  About how psychological it is.  About how all you really have to do (a la Gretchen Rubin) is put your running shoes on and close the door behind you…and then refuse to stop.  About how it’s great for meditative thoughts.  About how if you stick with it, your improvement will skyrocket before you know it…and if someone like ME can become a runner, anyone can.

It was really, really cool…the twenty-minute range stunk, like it always does, but I told myself I was already a third of the way done!!  And tried not to think, “Am I ONLY a THIRD of the way done??”  And by the time I passed thirty minutes…well, after that, the minutes just kind of slid by.  I think one thing that helped was that I had to think ahead to what my landmarks are…I mean, after all, I’m in Vienna, and running ALONE, because Christa is working…and I had to remember the route she took me on back on Monday…without getting LOST!  That’s my other triumph…I didn’t get lost!!  I had ten Euros and my mass transit pass with me just in case I had to flag a taxi back to the underground station, ha ha…that was my disaster plan.  But it was unnecessary.  And when I got back to her gate, I added a loop up to the stoplight and back to the gate and when I stopped, the watch said 1:00:20 and I could have just kept going.

I don’t know how far I ran, unfortunately…but I kept a pretty even pace (turns out it’s pretty much exactly Sheryl Crow’s “Leaving Las Vegas”), so I think I actually did a bit more than 5 miles.  The fact that I seemed to still be on pace at the end was another thing that shocked me.

Anyway…better blog the day now…was just so proud of this that it had to get its own post.  After Monday, it’ll be back to marathon blogging full-time.

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Accomplishment: 1 Hour

  1. Fran Phoenix says:

    Good job! The humidity in Virginia may be the challenge…I hide most days after 11:30 A.M. Hopefully the worst will be over soon. I put my screens in today in anticipation of being able to open the windows before too long…such a dreamer!

Leave a Reply

