Assisi

Okay, I LITERALLY have no idea how much time I have so I’ll make this fast…it may end any second when the nice man at this hotel comes to chase me off the computer.  My internet cafe’s computer isn’t working, and neither is their WiFi, so I begged a guy at Hotel Giotto who first said no, and then relented and gave me a one hour password ticket…but since he said no first, I don’t know if I HAVE an hour or if he humored my plea that I needed my friend’s number in Austria and HAD to use the internet.  He may be giving me a few minutes.

Anyway…Assisi is beautiful.  Is there anywhere in Italy that ISN’T??  Oh yeah…Rome.  Ha ha.  I really just want to point out today’s highlight…I spent the evening hours, about three of them, too pooped to walk another step (I think I had some subconscious goal of walking off ten days of pizza and gelato in ONE day)…I must have gone about ten miles today, all on steep inclines either up or down…sitting on a wall in front of the Basilica of St. Francis, reading my Kindle and offering to take pictures of couples and families strolling by.  Like the Paparazzi of the Franciscan Order.  Made some folks very very happy.  And nearly finished my book.  In front of the most beautiful cathedral I think I’ve ever seen.  It might be my favorite, seriously.  Just the most enjoyable evening.  The churches have all become a blur, the souvenir shops cannot take another CENT of my money or I’ll have to come home early…reading in front of that cathedral was the best decision I may have made all trip.

Leaving Assisi in the morning…catching an 11am train after seeing ONE MORE Basilica, and going to Venice by way of Florence.  No ticket to Vienna yet…beyond the powers of the idiot woman at the train station, though I had the help of a VERY kind young American nun named Sister Bethany Madonna of the Sisters of Light of NYC…so I’ll have a few hours in Venice to hash that out.  After that, I plan to be on an 11’hour train to Vienna and then CHRISTA!!  And hopefully worlds of fun in Austria will follow.  Last leg of the trip.  Can’t believe it.

I don’t want to take advantage of this nice man, so I really think I’ll sign off now, though there’s so much to tell…I had a wonderful day…but I’ll try to make up for it next stop.  In my perfect world in my head, the Venice train station has an internet cafe…if so, I’ll write something great, I promise.  In the meantime, I’m well, and buy a plane ticket to Assisi.  It is just the most wonderful place.

And now, off to the Basilica of San Francesco again to listen to a horde of French college kids sing and play guitar and fiddle the night away under the stars. =)

PS – I think they named San Francisco (the city) after this place because the incline of the streets are pretty much the same.  KILLER!

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in Italy & Austria 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Assisi

  1. Fran Phoenix says:

    Hmm…Maybe the next time a group from my Church (St. Francis) heads for Assisi, I will have to join them! Take care!

Leave a Reply

