New Accomplishment: 5K

Short post this time, but wanted to log yesterday morning’s run.  It was great weather, and I started out feeling strong…used Runkeeper to map out a 3.5-mile route that added just a touch more distance to my last run.  I’d skipped Saturday’s run because of the heat, so it’d been four days since I’d been out on the road.

I felt pretty good through the first mile down to Dolphin Beach…then headed across the dam (past my veterinarian, out walking his dog) and up Golf Club Drive…which is a gentle but long incline…started to feel my form fall apart and my pace suffer, but tried to gather mental faculties to pick it back up…thank God for the even longer decline down Waterway Drive!  As usual, the return uphill as I approached Country Club was killer, but I was determined to make it past the 7-Eleven and keep going.  The stretch for the next half-mile is even and shaded…so I kept telling myself there was no excuse not to keep going…by then, I’m in a rhythm and all the hard running is behind me!  I can TOTALLY do 3.5!

Then the stitch in my side hit.  MY GOD.  I absolutely could not breathe.  It came on as soon as I crested the incline by the 7-Eleven…and through grit and stubbornness, I made it to Kevin Walker Drive to finish a full 5K (3.1 miles), just to have some improvement over my last distance accomplishment, even if only a little one.  After that, I just gave up the ghost and walked.  It sucked, but MAN it felt like someone was stabbing me!!

The good news is, though I ran 0.1 farther than my previous long run, my time was about 2 minutes shorter! Which means I had my best pace ever!! I usually think of myself as terribly slow, but I thought about it a lot while I was running, and I don’t think I’m as slow as all that!  My average pace was about 11:42/mile…which DOES sound slow…but it was better yesterday than it had been before!

So…baby steps. =)  I’m trying each day to do a tiny bit more than I did before…a tiny bit farther, or a tiny bit longer.  Each time, I’ve managed to do that.

Tomorrow morning I have all kinds of early obligations…so I’m not sure I’ll get a run in.  But a friend has invited me to some kind of “track work” thing she does every week, run by some guy who guides a group through interval training.  I’m not at all sure I’m into the idea, but I think I’m going to go just to try it out, and to make up for missing what would ordinarily be a run morning.  Thank God at least the weather’s been great the past couple days!!

I’m less than three weeks from Week One of my training program!  AND I’m less than ONE week from ITALY!!!  How am I gonna find time to run in ITALY??

I better!!  ‘Cause I plan to EAT TILL I POP!!  =)

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Accomplishment: 5K

  1. t wilbourn says:

    Did we talk about Italy before we left?? How come I can’t remember? Tell me more!
    And you BETTER eat till you pop. Life is short, and you’ve got the willpower to come home and run it all off :)

  2. Stephanne Walker says:

    WOW this was better than a PBS travel special. Loved it!!!!
    SSW

Leave a Reply

