New Accomplishment: First 30-minute run!

When I type that title, I realize…I am SOOOOOO at Square One on this thing!!!

Ha ha…well, I guess I’m not at Square One as much as I was last fall, heading into a 5k with NO running experience AT ALL.  I’ve really made a lot of headway since then.  30 minutes doesn’t translate into a 5k for me yet, and probably won’t for a while, but I sure hope eventually it can.  I think the next goal after I have 30 minutes solid will be a 5k with no walking.  Yesterday, 31 minutes translated into a 2.59 mile run.

If you’re following this and you’re a runner, I want to introduce you to a site my friend Lisa turned me on to.  It’s called RunKeeper.  It’s an iPhone app, but it’s also a website for those of us who don’t have iPhones.  It’s a great way to log your miles and map your routes.  I like it because it tells me just how long my running route is…and also shows me elevation topography.  It can either snap to roads (if you run mostly sidewalks and streets, like I do) or not, which means you can take it off-road.  For example, there’s a lake in my neighborhood, and if I want to cross the dam on a route, I can map the route over the dam and it’s a pretty good estimation (the closer you zoom, the more accurately you can mark the route)…which is good because I can’t drive the dam, and therefore wouldn’t know the mileage on that route.

RunKeeper also allows you to create a “street team.”  It’s like a friends list for running.  When one of my street teammates logs an activity, I can see it and comment on it.  That gives you a running community even if you don’t actually run together…great for support and motivation.

What I like best about it is that you can log comments about the run…talk about weather conditions, how far you went, warm-up and cool-down stats (which I no longer include in the actual route because I’m starting to get interested in my pace), and how you felt on the run.  I think eventually I’m going to really enjoy looking back on that…remembering what it was like in the early goings.

Also, they have other activities you can log besides running/walking.  You can enter hiking, swimming, even wheelchair(ing?)!!  Ha ha.  They also allow you to enter machines like treadmills and ergometers.  Oh, and it calculates your calories burned, too…not that I totally trust that, but it’s nice to see when it’s a big number.  Anyway…check it out.  I’d love to have new street teammates!  My user name, of course, is MerlinToes.

I should have posted yesterday when I broke the previous 24-minute barrier, got to 30, and then KEPT GOING till minute 31!  But I think blasting it all over Facebook and logging it into RunKeeper kept me from having a burning desire to post here.  Hmm.  Drawback.

One thing I DID write on RunKeeper yesterday was how RIDICULOUSLY PROUD of myself I was when I finished 31 minutes.  I stopped a mile from home, and walked the whole mile with a cheesy, goofy grin on my face because I was so happy about knocking out my first major goal.  (Second, I guess…the first one was running a mile straight.)  And I thought to myself the whole way home, this is how it starts.  You start accomplishing one little goal after another, and that’s the high that gets you addicted to running.

I like the way my friend Lisa put it on her blog (which is awesome, and is linked through her name earlier in this post): “…The thing I’ve come to appreciate about the human body is that it’s a given that improvement will follow if you just keep at your training (whatever that training may be).”

I sure hope that’s true.  ‘Cause 26.2 miles is gonna take a LOT of improvement over 2.6.

HEY!  I’m 10% there!!!  COOL!

(whimper)

ps – i added a subscription widget over to the right…if you click on it, it’ll email you when i write a post.  i’m shamelessly self-promoting here, but i hope you subscribe anyway!!

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Accomplishment: First 30-minute run!

  1. Michelle says:

    One step at a time really works! I’m so impressed with your discipline and progress. It’s inspiring to read this blog. I love it!!

  2. Jeff says:

    10% is a great start. Very proud of your commitment and confidence.

  3. t wilbourn says:

    so proud of you! it’s inspiring me to keep running!

Leave a Reply

