Walk of Shame

So I’ve been doing the I-didn’t-run-today Walk of Shame all day.  I guess it’s not as bad as I make it out to be, but I’m still kinda disappointed in myself.  I haven’t run since Friday, and this is Wednesday.  I blamed it on not sleeping well last night (seriously, I was awake about four or five times in seven hours) and still being sore from our long trip down the river in the inner tubes…but I should’ve made the attempt today.  I think it was because I knew I wouldn’t make the 30-minute goal in the condition I was in.  But if being worried about failure will keep me from the attempt…that’s a bad thing.  Once I start this training program, I’ll be about five weeks away from a TEN MILER.  That seems ASTRONOMICAL to me now.  Will I chicken out??

As penance (and lame penance at that), I rode my bike to the pool (only half a mile away, but I haven’t been on my bike as much as I thought I would when I decided to drop nearly $200 on it) and did a 500m.  I WAS going to do a 1000m…but didn’t because there were lots of kids in the lap lane and the lifeguards didn’t seem too concerned about clearing it for me.  Nor did the other lap swimmer seem to be familiar with the concept of circle-swimming…the idea that you stay to the right of the black line, like driving a car.  So I pretty much only had the 15 minutes of break time to work with.  AND I picked up several library books today and had one with me…wanted to dive into it.  (These days it seems I have a 30-page limit till I lose interest in a book…what’s up with that??)  Anyway…all this is really a lot of excuse-making about my lackluster workout routine lately.  My two-a-days have turned into two-a-weeks.  Hmm.

But I did want to share my calendar.  This is total evidence that I’m a teacher…obsessed with office supplies…OCD organizational skills (very localized, let me assure you)…and really, just a demonstration of my belief that if I put a lot of effort into the setup of this marathon training thing, I’ll be less likely to back out of it.  (Can you tell I’m terrified of the idea of backing out of it???)

So the front is the first five weeks…and the back contains the other eleven weeks.  They’ll move onto the front as I get to them.  I’ll note date and run time on each stickynote as I complete them.  I’ll start as soon as I can do two weeks of three solid 30-minute runs each with no walking.

(you can click on them to enlarge them. this is the 16-week routine from NRMT.)

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

