The Goal

My goal is to attain the best physical condition of my life in the next twelve months by accomplishing two tasks that, at this moment, seem monumental to me:

  1. Finishing a marathon (finishing time not important)
  2. Completing one full 90-day circuit of P90X

In the past eight days, I have increased my continual-jog time from 10 minutes (on a Couch to 5K training run) to 24 minutes (during a 5k in Culpeper on July 3, and much to my surprise when I looked at the time).  Theoretically, I should be able to jog a continuous 30 minutes in the next week, and if I can, I plan to take up the training schedule found in the book The Non-Runner’s Marathon Trainer, by David A. Whitsett, Forrest A. Dolgener, and Tanjala Mabon Kole.  I received this book on loan from my friend Abbey Dupuy, herself a marathon runner (along with her husband, my good friend George).  George spent some time as a Mennonite pastor, and Abbey, therefore the “pastor’s wife” (oh how she loves that term…not) told me as she handed it over, “I’ve told more people about this book than I have about Jesus.”  Before I had held it in my hands for a full five minutes, I knew this book would “get” me.  I told her so, and laughed as I cursed her for setting this course in motion.  She just smiled at me and told me, “This book will change your life.  The RACE will DEFINITELY change your life.”  Oh…and she told me I’d get a medal.  I mean…seriously…is there a better reason to do something like this??

And one of my own quotes from just a few days ago…I don’t remember who I was even talking to…probably KDR…but I said, “It’s already lodged itself into my psyche.  It’s already a was gonna. If I DON’T run a marathon…for the rest of my life, I’ll count it among the things I failed to do.  It will always be, ‘Yeah, I was gonna run a marathon once…and then I never did.’  And I’ll be hanging my head in shame at my lack of dedication.”

I won’t go real deep into what the book is about here…just check it out for yourself, especially if you think you’re not even remotely capable of even considering running a marathon.  It’ll get you, too.

As for the P90X thing…well, I’ve now met four people who have either completed or are completing the course.  One is my friend Lisa…you can check her out on her blog.  Another is a guy I know from work.  The other two I met on Independence Day…brother and sister-in-law to my friend KDR.  The one who clinched it for me was the sister-in-law.  Maybe it was the Italian tan, but the shape of her body…shoulders, arm tone, waist, hips…everything…well, I’ve never coveted anything more in my life.  It was just one thought in my head every time I looked at her: “I wanna look like THAT.”  And the thing about it was, it wasn’t overstated…she wasn’t a model or a body-builder, she didn’t have that hardened look you see on chicks who work out too much…she was just beautiful. (And she had that Julia Roberts/Meg Ryan quality that TOTALLY convinces you that you could look just like her, easy.)

So.

I have a year.  (More on that in subsequent posts as it unfolds.)  It is currently record-level hot outside…100+…which throws a monkeywrench into the whole plan because I am NOT a patient person.  But the heat should break in the next couple days and be do-able again.  It’s summer.  My schedule is wide open.  There is nothing in my way.  If I set the schedule in motion, I can fit it around the school day in the fall, one way or another.  If the marathon training starts in the next couple weeks (I have to be able to run 3-5 miles first), I will be done sometime in November, whether or not I actually run one at that time.  At that point, I can ease off the running for the winter and spend the cold months doing P90X.  In the spring, I can reestablish the running and perhaps do a marathon sometime in April or May.

Best-laid plans.

But I want to try.  The testimonials in this book all say that if you can complete a marathon, your whole paradigm shifts and you suddenly know you can accomplish anything else you attempt in life.  I understand P90X has a similar result.  I wanna know what that feels like.  (And look like KDR’s sister-in-law.  Ha ha.)

So here I go.

About merlintoes

Amateur marathoner, constant wanderer, sometime teacher, and pilgrim for life. As of July 2012, I have picked up and moved my life to Colorado, a state where I know no one, have no job, and hear it is very beautiful. I don't understand it myself...but I'm gonna run with it.
This entry was posted in St. Jude Marathon 2010 Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Goal

  1. homanag says:

    WOW!! You inspire:) What a great story so far Chris!!!

Leave a Reply

